Skip to Content
Ohio RCAP
Ohio RCAP

RCAP Services in Ohio

The Ohio Rural Community Assistance Program (RCAP) provides consulting services to help rural communities (fewer than 10,000 in population) address their drinking water and wastewater treatment needs. Each year, we serve well over 200 communities in Ohio and leverage millions of dollars for water and sewer projects. Our field agents assist communities with project development and capacity building. Ohio RCAP is part of Great Lakes RCAP, administered by Great Lakes Community Action Partnership.



Contact:
Sherry Loos: smloos@glcap.org

Ohio RCAP Services

Ohio RCAP Services

A comprehensive list of services available through Ohio RCAP.

RCAP Trainings

RCAP Trainings

Available trainings in asset management, project funding, utility costs and more.

GIS Mapping

GIS Mapping

Map water lines and other community assets with GIS.

Broadband Internet

Broadband Internet

Tools to improve connectivity. 

Resources

Resources

Information to help small communities.

Planning for Pandemics

Planning for Pandemics

Responding to COVID 19 and other threats.

Alternative Wastewater Solutions

Alternative Wastewater Solutions

Beyond one size fits all wastewater infrastructure

Ohio RCAP Staff

Athens

Ben Howard
Rural Development Specialist
614-440-4236
lbhoward@glcap.org

 

Brimfield

Laura Schuch
GIS Coordinator
330-389-1612
lmschuch@glcap.org


David Garretson

GIS Database Administrator
330-715-5371
dkgarretson@glcap.org


Mike Kirsch 
Utility Mapping Technician
740-586-3757
mjkirsch@glcap.org


Joseph Lawrie
Rural Development Specialist
216-409-8081
jflawrie@glcap.org


Maria Dimengo

Rural Development Specialist
216-410-2786
mcdimengo@glcap.org


Sherry Loos
State Coordinator for Ohio
330-677-3438
smloos@glcap.org


Robert Snyder
GIS Technician
rfsnyder@glcap.org


Chris Saillant       
GIS Technician
330-690-7306
csaillant@glcap.org


Alex Bryda   

GIS Technician          
571-528-9936
abryda@glcap.org


Jacob Getz   

Utility Mapping Specialist
330-217-3999
jsgetz@glcap.org


Columbus

Sam Eitner
GIS Specialist 
440-778-8729
kseitner@glcap.org


Defiance

Sandy Kessler
Senior Rural Development Specialist 
419-769-3477
slkessler@glcap.org


Gali
on

Jennifer Jennette
Rural Development Specialist 
740-361-2435
jljennette@glcap.org


Leesburg

Wayne Cannon    
Rural Development Specialist         
937-409-3686     
hwcannon@glcap.org


Marion

Bud Mason 
Regional Coordinator
740-341-2536
cmason@glcap.org

 

Millersburg

Pam Ewing
Rural Development Specialist
330-674-9600
psewing@glcap.org

 

Oak Hill

Kurtis Strickland
MIS Coordinator
740-682-8414
kmstrickland@glcap.org


Tiffin

Cindy Brookes
Rural Development Specialist
419-397-2648
cabrookes@glcap.org

 

Toledo

Roberta Streiffert
Rural Development Specialist
419-724-4155
rjstreiffert@glcap.org


Troy

Todd Brandenburg 
RCAP Operator
(WW Class II/
W Class III)
937-216-8387
tabrandenburg@glcap.org


Waverly

Nathan Davis
Rural Development Specialist
740-947-1952
njdavis@glcap.org

 

Woodsfield

Misty Tolzda
Rural Development Specialist
740-807-3007
mltolzda@glcap.org

 

Upper Sandusky

Russell Boes
RCAP Operator
(W/WW Class III)
419-294-9878
rlboes@glcap.org

 

Zanesville

Ronald Winland 
Rural Development Specialist
740-891-3364
rlwinland@glcap.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How is RCAP Funded?

RCAP receives state and federal funding under the following programs. Funding pays for technical assistance to qualified communities.

  • Appalachian Regional Commission and Governor's Office of Appalachia

  • Ohio EPA - Division of Drinking and Groundwater

  • Ohio Water Development Authority

  • U.S. Department of Health and Human Services - Office of Community Services

  • U.S. EPA Safe Drinking Water

  • U.S. EPA Wastewater

  • USDA — Rural Utilities Service — Technitrain Program

  • USDA — Rural Housing Service — Rural Community Development Initiatives Program

Funding is limited by programs.  Communities that do not qualify for grant-funded assistance can receive RCAP services for a fee.


Specialty Services


RCAP provides a number of services that are not covered by grant funding. These include asset management plans, rate studies, environmental reports and grant administration. Services are available for a fee.  

RCAP is administered by the Great Lakes Community Action Partnership (a trade name of WSOS Community Action Commission), a 501(c)3 non-profit agency.